Skip to content

The Motion of the Ocean

November 13, 2010

Have you ever been to Mystery Hill in the mountains of North Carolina? At the Mystery House you stumble through each room seemingly at a 45-degree angle. That is what it feels like walking around the ship. When the waves are really smooth, it’s not difficult to walk throughout the ship. When the seas are choppy and the waves are rough, walking can be quite challenging. During choppy seas,  it feels as if I am standing in the Mystery House, defying gravity as my body tilts in one direction while I try to walk in the other direction. Other tasks that are challenging in rough seas include trying to stay away from the edge of the ship so I don’t fall into the ocean, climbing up steep stairs, attempting to stand upright while taking a shower, and carrying a plate of food from the kitchen to the dining area. These seemingly simple tasks require extra effort and coordination while on a ship. My “sea legs” have been kind of wobbly over the past few days.

On another note, motion sickness medication does work! For the first six days, I wore patches which caused the unfortunate side effect of blurred vision. The blurred vision interfered with my depth perception and my ability to see what I was typing on the computer screen. Now, after about 10 hours without the patch, my vision is almost back to normal.  Because I have never been this far out in the ocean or on a ship like the Ron Brown, I decided to take preventative motion sickness medication. I was told by a NOAA medical officer that it is better to prevent motion sickness than to try to deal with the symptoms afterward. Sometimes the slightest movement of the ship can bring on a wave of nausea. Thank goodness I have not experienced full-blown seasickness!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 12:04 am

    Hi Beverly,

    You can cut motion sickness patches in two to reduce the amount of scopolamine that is delivered at a given time. That way, you are relieved from the nausea but the side effects are minimal . Using half a patch works well for me…

    I hope this helps!
    Cheers, e

    • owensscience permalink
      November 14, 2010 9:02 pm

      Thanks for the advice, E. I’m trying that today!

  2. Tessa permalink
    November 14, 2010 3:50 pm

    Beverly!! Your new adventure sounds awesome! Do they fly in your chocolate to replenish your supply??? So excited for you! Take care!

    • owensscience permalink
      November 14, 2010 8:58 pm

      Hey Tessa,
      Good to hear from you. Having a great time, minus the rough seas today 8 ft. + swells. As for chocolate…there is one snack machine 🙂 It has Reeses fast breaaks, which I am proud to say I have not gotten one yet! But will soon.

  3. sara ledbetter permalink
    November 14, 2010 7:56 pm

    Beverly I’m sure you will be glad to be back on solid ground. Glad the whole sickness thing is not too bad. Hope you are having a blast. Take care.

    • owensscience permalink
      November 14, 2010 9:00 pm

      Hey Sara,
      Solid ground…can’t wait for it! On sea sickness – seems like I spoke too soon. We have had crazy high seas today, from 6-9 ft, rocking the whole boat in every direction. Other than that, everything is great. But, can’t wait to be home! See you soon.

  4. LORI permalink
    November 15, 2010 3:25 pm

    I understand motion sickness…i can’t even sit in the back of a car…not to mention being out in the ocean…So excited to read all the wonderful things that are going on!! Sara, Bruce and Brian did an awesome job at the conference (and they missed you too)…I will continue to pray for your safety and success!!!

Leave a Reply

